Skip to content
Tinsel Tote

Santa's Bags Install N' Store Light Storage, Reviewed on Its Published Specs

The only reel set we have read that publishes a cord capacity. That one line is most of the reason to buy it, and we have not tested it.

By Scooter M.Published Last verified

Disclosure: buy links on this page go to Amazon and earn us a commission at no cost to you. It does not change what we rank or what we say about it — the full disclosure is here.

The short answer

Buy it if any of your lights go outside. The maker publishes a capacity for extension cord — 150 feet of 16 AWG per reel — which no other reel set we have read states, and cord is the bulk of an exterior box. Skip it if everything you own is indoor mini strands, because a cheaper three-reel bag publishes the same strand capacity and metal reels. We have not tested it; everything below is what the published specification supports.

What this review is, and is not

We do not own this product and we have not wound a strand onto it. That is true of every product on this site and we say so on every page. What a spec-based review can do is read what the maker has committed to in writing, compare it with what its competitors commit to, and tell you which claims are checkable and which are not. That is what follows.

What the maker publishes

Every figure the Install N' Store product page states
SpecificationPublished value
Reels included3 XL reels
Reel dimensions13" x 13" x 5" each
Capacity per reel, C7Up to 75 ft of C7 bulbs and holiday wire
Capacity per reel, mini strandsUp to 150 ft
Capacity per reel, extension cordUp to 150 ft of 16 AWG
Bag dimensions13" x 13" x 15"
Bag fabric600D poly-blend
Reel materialPlastic, described as high quality
Included hookSpinning hook, stated to support up to 10 lb
HandlesReinforced carrying handles
WarrantyOne-year limited warranty
Bag closureNot published
Load ratingNot published

That is a fuller specification than most of the category prints, and two lines in it do the real work. The first is the cord capacity, which we come back to below. The second is 600D on the bag: a published fabric weight rather than an adjective, which puts the bag itself on the same footing as the best tree bags we rank.

The cord line is the whole case

Every reel set publishes a strand capacity. Almost none publishes what the reel holds when you wind extension cord onto it, and extension cord is what an exterior display is mostly made of: a hundred feet of 16-gauge cord weighs and bulks more than the strand it powers. It is also the item that tangles worst when it is coiled by hand and dropped in a tote.

The Install N' Store states 150 feet of 16 AWG per reel. That single published number lets you plan an exterior kit in a way nothing else here allows: cord on one reel, C7 line on another, minis on the third, one elevation per bag. The full method for keeping cords and clips with the run they belong to is on storing light cords, clips and hardware.

Three XL reels: enough for one elevation

Three reels at 13 inches across is a genuinely large reel set, and the 75-foot C7 figure is the one to plan against, because C7 and C9 bulbs on a run are what fill a reel. For most houses that is one exterior elevation: the front gutter, the porch, the shrubs. A full roofline with the side returns needs two sets, and the maker does not pretend otherwise.

The reel material is described as high quality plastic and nothing more. Plastic reel flanges are the failure point on cheaper sets when a heavy exterior strand is wound tight, and the Zober three-reel bag publishes metal reels for exactly that reason. This is the one place the Install N' Store's specification is thinner than a competitor's, and it is the con we weight most. The strand-count arithmetic for every reel set is on light storage by strand count.

The spinning hook

The included hook is the feature the name refers to: the reel hangs from it and spins as you wind, so a strand comes off a gutter and onto a reel in one motion without the reel sitting on wet ground. The maker states a 10-pound capacity for the hook, which is the only load figure on the product and a sensible one — a loaded XL reel of C7s is well under it.

It is a genuine convenience and it is the part of the product a spec review cannot judge: whether the hook is worth using depends on how it hangs and how the reel spins, and nobody publishes that. Buyer reviews on the retailer's listing are a better source than we are for it, and we say so.

The bag: a cube, not a box

Thirteen by thirteen by fifteen inches is a cube that takes the three reels stacked and little else. It sits on a shelf; it does not go under a bed, and it does not lie flat in a shallow tote. The 600D fabric is a real specification, the handles are stated reinforced, and the closure is not described at all, which is an odd omission on a bag whose contents are the point.

Against the rigid alternatives — a four-reel box publishing around 18 by 15 by 12 inches — the bag is smaller, softer and hangs on a garage hook. The trade between those formats, including crush resistance, is on light storage reels versus bags.

Against the two obvious alternatives

The Install N' Store against a three-reel fabric bag and a four-reel rigid box
Install N' StoreZober 3-reel bagHOMZ 4-reel container
Reels3 XL34
Strand capacity published150 ft mini / 75 ft C7 per reel240 ft total, with bulb countsNot published
Cord capacity published150 ft of 16 AWG per reelNot publishedNot published
Reel materialPlasticMetalNot published
Container600D bag, 13" x 13" x 15"600D bag, 12.5" x 15"Rigid box, dimensions not published
Warranty1 yearNot statedNot stated

Read across and the decision writes itself. Outdoor lights with cord: the Install N' Store, on the cord line and the warranty. Indoor strands only: the Zober, on metal reels and published bulb counts, at a lower price bracket. A rigid box that publishes neither capacity nor dimensions is the one we would not buy without more information.

The honest downsides

Plastic reels where a competitor publishes metal, at the size where heavy exterior strands stress a flange. No stated bag closure. A cube that does not fit under a bed or in a shallow tote. Three reels, which is one elevation, so a big display is two purchases. And a price bracket above the basic three-reel bags, which is fair for the cord capacity and the warranty and unnecessary if you never wind a cord.

Verdict

The best-specified reel set we have read for an exterior display, on the strength of one published number nobody else prints. For an indoor-only household it is a good product at the wrong price bracket, and the three-reel Zober is the sensible buy. We have not tested either; our method and its limits are at how we pick.

What to buy for this

The products that answer the question above, with the manufacturer's published numbers and what each one costs you.

Santa's Bags Install N' Store Light Storage

Three XL reels in a 600D bag, and the only reel set here that publishes a capacity for extension cord as well as for lights: 150 ft of 16 AWG per reel.

Published specifications

Reels included
3 XL reelsSanta's Bags product page
Capacity per reel
Up to 75 ft of C7 bulbs and holiday wire, or 150 ft of mini light strands, or 150 ft of 16 AWG extension cordSanta's Bags product page
Bag dimensions
13" x 13" x 15"Santa's Bags product page
Reel dimensions
13" x 13" x 5" eachSanta's Bags product page
Material
600D poly-blend bag; plastic reelsSanta's Bags product page
Included hook
Spinning hook, stated to support up to 10 lbSanta's Bags product page
Warranty
One-year limited warrantySanta's Bags product page

What it gets right

  • A published extension-cord capacity, 150 ft of 16 AWG per reel, which no other reel product here states at all
  • 600D on the bag is a real fabric number, not an adjective
  • The spinning hook carries a stated 10 lb, so the reel can hang while you wind rather than sitting on wet ground

What it costs you

  • Three reels is one exterior elevation for most houses, so a full roofline needs two sets
  • Reels are 13 inches square, which stacks badly in a shallow under-bed box
  • The bag's closure is not described on the product page

Do not buy it if: All your lights are interior mini strands. A cheaper reel set holds those, and the cord capacity you are paying for goes unused.

Zober Christmas Light Storage Bag with 3 Metal Reels

240 feet of published strand capacity across three reels, in a 12.5 by 15 inch bag. Three reels is the number that matters, because one strand per reel is the only arrangement that never tangles.

Published specifications

Strand capacity
240 ft of light strand across three reelsZober listing, Amazon
Bulb capacity
Each reel holds a minimum of 300 mini bulbs (900 per bag); 240 C-size per bag (720 total is stated for the larger format); 80 D-size per reelZober listing, Amazon
Bag dimensions
12.5" x 15"Zober listing, Amazon
Material
600 denier Oxford fabricZober listing, Amazon

What it gets right

  • Metal reels rather than plastic, which is what stops the flanges splitting when a strand is wound tight
  • Published bulb counts by bulb size, which is a genuinely useful number nobody else prints
  • 12.5 by 15 inches is small enough to hang rather than shelve

What it costs you

  • Three reels means three strands. A house with six runs needs two bags
  • The published capacities assume a strand wound neatly, not one shoved in

Do not buy it if: You run more than about 240 feet of lights. Count your strand lengths first -- the arithmetic is on the strand-count page.

HOMZ Holiday String Light Storage Container with 4 Reels

A rigid container with four reels. It does the same job as the Sterilite; the listing publishes less about it.

Published specifications

Reels
4 reels includedHOMZ listing, Amazon
Capacity per reel
Not published on the listing we readHOMZ listing, Amazon

What it gets right

  • Rigid construction, four reels, and it stacks with other rigid totes

What it costs you

  • Neither capacity nor outside dimensions are published on the listing we read
  • The Sterilite equivalent publishes both, for the same job

Do not buy it if: You want to check the fit before it arrives. Buy the Sterilite instead -- same format, published numbers.

Questions people ask

How much light does the Install N' Store hold?
The maker publishes three XL reels, each holding up to 75 feet of C7 bulbs and holiday wire, or up to 150 feet of mini light strands, or up to 150 feet of 16 AWG extension cord. That is one reel per exterior run for most houses, so a front gutter, a porch and a shrub line fill the set, and a full roofline needs two.
Is the Install N' Store worth it over a cheaper reel bag?
If any of your lights are outdoors, yes, for one published figure: 150 feet of 16 AWG extension cord per reel. No other reel set we have read states a cord capacity at all, and cord is usually the largest volume in an exterior box. If everything you own is indoor mini strands, a three-reel bag that publishes metal reels and 240 feet of strand capacity does the same job.
What does the spinning hook do?
It hangs the reel while you wind, so the reel spins on the hook instead of sitting on wet ground or in your lap. The maker states it supports up to 10 pounds, which is the only load figure on the product. On a wet January morning it is the feature that makes the winding a one-person job.
What does the maker not publish?
The bag's closure, the reel material beyond 'high quality plastic', a load rating for the bag, and the weight of a loaded reel. We have not tested the product, so we cannot fill those gaps; the review below is what the published specification supports and nothing more.
Does it fit under a bed or on a shelf?
The bag publishes 13 by 13 by 15 inches, which is a cube rather than a flat box. It sits on a shelf easily and does not go under a standard bed frame. Each reel is 13 by 13 by 5 inches, so the three reels stack to the bag's height with little room for anything else.

Sources